Advisory Board

Dr. Patrick Kobina Arthur
Phone :0205131212;  0247458501
Fax : +233 302 502182
Department : Biochemistry, Cell and Molecular Biology 

Dr. Arthur obtained his PhD at the University of Göttingen in Germany. He has undertaken short-term post-doctoral studies at the University of Maryland – College Park and the ETH-Zurich, Switzerland. He is currently a Lecturer at the Department of Biochemistry, Cell and Molecular Biology, University of Ghana.

Project Name
Drug Discovery for Tuberculosis
Research Interest
Dr. Arthur’s research is in the area of Infection and Chemical Biology and Proteomics.He isolates bioactive metabolites produced by fungi for application as anti-infective agents. He alsouses mass spectrometry based proteomics and advanced imaging techniques to study the mechanism ofaction and the cellular effects of novel bioactive compounds.
Isolation and Characterization of Antimycobacterial Compounds Produced by Wood Decaying Fungi Found in Ghana

4. Schubert, O. T., Mouritsen, J., Ludwig, C., Rost, H. L., Rosenberger, G., Arthur, P. K., Claassen, M., Campbell, D. S., Sun, Z., Farrah, T., Gengenbacher, M., Kaufmann, S.H.E., Moritz, R. L., Aebersold, R.  (2013) 'The Mtb Proteome Library: A Resource of Assays to Quantify the Complete Proteome of Mycobacterium tuberculosis', Cell Host Microbe 13(5): 602-12

3. Expression, purification and analysis of the activity of enzymes from the pentose phosphate pathway. Arthur PK, Alvarado LJ, Dayie TK., Protein Expr Purif. 2010 Nov 23.

2. Elr-type proteins protect Xenopus Dead end mRNA from miR-18-mediated clearance in the soma. Koebernick K, Loeber J, Arthur PK, Tarbashevich K, Pieler T. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2010 Sep 14;107(37):16148-53.

1. Participation of Xenopus Elr-type proteins in vegetal mRNA localization during oogenesis.
Arthur PK, Claussen M, Koch S, Tarbashevich K, Jahn O, Pieler T. J Biol Chem. 2009 Jul 24;284(30):19982-92.

Dr. Kwadwo Asamoah Kusi
DR. Evelyn Yayra Afua Bonney Kingsley Badu
Dr Aminata Colle LO Samuel Asamoah Sakyi Dr. Jewelna Akorli
(nee Osei-Poku)
Dr Patrick Valere Tsouh Fokou
Dr. Patrick Kobina Arthur Dr. Joseph Mwanzia Nguta
Dr Edward Maina Protus Arrey Tarkang